pylibacl.git
9 years agoRename tests → test and distribute test files too
Iustin Pop [Thu, 17 May 2012 02:49:37 +0000 (04:49 +0200)]
Rename tests → test and distribute test files too

The rename is done for consistency with other projects, and
distributing the tests is of course useful.

9 years agoFix manifest file after reorganisations
Iustin Pop [Thu, 17 May 2012 02:48:12 +0000 (04:48 +0200)]
Fix manifest file after reorganisations

Forgot this after the doc changes…

9 years agoUpdate NEWS and bump version number for 0.5.1 release pylibacl-v0.5.1
Iustin Pop [Sun, 13 May 2012 04:14:57 +0000 (06:14 +0200)]
Update NEWS and bump version number for 0.5.1 release

9 years agoExpand the range of Python versions for unittests
Iustin Pop [Sun, 13 May 2012 04:13:11 +0000 (06:13 +0200)]
Expand the range of Python versions for unittests

3.3 has some issues (refuses to recognise 'test-suite') on my machine,
not yet enabled.

9 years agoIntegrate old web site index file into README
Iustin Pop [Sun, 13 May 2012 04:12:34 +0000 (06:12 +0200)]
Integrate old web site index file into README

… and include the README into the main docs page.

9 years agoExtend the refcount leak tests
Iustin Pop [Sun, 13 May 2012 03:29:19 +0000 (05:29 +0200)]
Extend the refcount leak tests

This also exercises the str() more in general, to test/detect the py3k
str() compatibility issue more easily.

9 years agoFix html too-often rebuild
Iustin Pop [Sun, 13 May 2012 03:27:52 +0000 (05:27 +0200)]
Fix html too-often rebuild

9 years agoWorkaround another py3k compatibility issue
Iustin Pop [Sun, 13 May 2012 03:18:24 +0000 (05:18 +0200)]
Workaround another py3k compatibility issue

str() must return unicode in py3k, so we add another layer of macro
names…

9 years agoReplace deprecated names in test suite
Iustin Pop [Sun, 13 May 2012 03:17:45 +0000 (05:17 +0200)]
Replace deprecated names in test suite

9 years agoReorganise documentation
Iustin Pop [Sun, 13 May 2012 02:14:32 +0000 (04:14 +0200)]
Reorganise documentation

Lots of changes so that all docs are buildable by Sphinx.

9 years agoRework documentation style to RST/Sphinx custom
Iustin Pop [Sun, 13 May 2012 01:38:11 +0000 (03:38 +0200)]
Rework documentation style to RST/Sphinx custom

Hrmm, editing it in C source code is ugly… but the docs are pretty!

9 years agoCleanups for RST/sphinx correctness
Iustin Pop [Sun, 13 May 2012 00:14:56 +0000 (02:14 +0200)]
Cleanups for RST/sphinx correctness

This makes sphix build without errors.

9 years agoSwitch from epydoc to sphinx
Iustin Pop [Sat, 12 May 2012 23:26:34 +0000 (01:26 +0200)]
Switch from epydoc to sphinx

It seems sphinx's autodoc extension can investigate the docstrings
from extensions modules too, so let's just use that.

9 years agoUse Py_RETURN_(TRUE|FALSE) instead of explicit code
Iustin Pop [Sat, 12 May 2012 22:54:27 +0000 (00:54 +0200)]
Use Py_RETURN_(TRUE|FALSE) instead of explicit code

This makes it a bit more safe.

9 years agoRework a long if/else if statement
Iustin Pop [Sat, 12 May 2012 22:51:58 +0000 (00:51 +0200)]
Rework a long if/else if statement

The switch/case method seems much clearer (it shows that we case on a
single expression).

9 years agoFix more warning found by static checker
Iustin Pop [Sat, 12 May 2012 22:47:18 +0000 (00:47 +0200)]
Fix more warning found by static checker

These are not critical, but they can be clean up so let's do it.

9 years agoFix critical issues found by static analyser
Iustin Pop [Sat, 12 May 2012 22:40:10 +0000 (00:40 +0200)]
Fix critical issues found by static analyser

Fix issues found per https://bugzilla.redhat.com/800126, thanks Dave
Malcolm! Upon inspection, indeed all were cases of bad refcounting or
other significant issues.

9 years agoAdd test for refcount leak
Iustin Pop [Sat, 12 May 2012 11:30:32 +0000 (13:30 +0200)]
Add test for refcount leak

Not very solid, but it detects a wrong reference count.

9 years agoRename the README file
Iustin Pop [Fri, 11 May 2012 23:05:43 +0000 (01:05 +0200)]
Rename the README file

Since it's anyway mark-down compatible.

11 years agoUpdate NEWS file and release 0.5.0 v0.5.0
Iustin Pop [Sun, 27 Dec 2009 18:23:30 +0000 (19:23 +0100)]
Update NEWS file and release 0.5.0

11 years agoFix a warning with Python 2.6
Iustin Pop [Sun, 27 Dec 2009 17:18:05 +0000 (18:18 +0100)]
Fix a warning with Python 2.6

… which already defined Py_TYPE.

11 years agoUpdate copyright years
Iustin Pop [Sun, 27 Dec 2009 16:58:48 +0000 (17:58 +0100)]
Update copyright years

11 years agoAccept both unicode and string objects
Iustin Pop [Sun, 27 Dec 2009 16:48:04 +0000 (17:48 +0100)]
Accept both unicode and string objects

This converts PyArg functions from "s" to "et" and also adds check for
PyUnicode object in methods that accept generic objects (previously only
PyBytes checks were done).

11 years agoUnittest fixes for python 3
Iustin Pop [Sun, 27 Dec 2009 16:10:08 +0000 (17:10 +0100)]
Unittest fixes for python 3

11 years agoMore python 3 changes
Iustin Pop [Sun, 27 Dec 2009 16:06:47 +0000 (17:06 +0100)]
More python 3 changes

This gets the module to compile without warnings, but the unittest suite
still needs modifications.

11 years agoImport the PyInt_* defines from 3.0's intobject.h
Iustin Pop [Sun, 27 Dec 2009 15:16:05 +0000 (16:16 +0100)]
Import the PyInt_* defines from 3.0's intobject.h

This is a stopgap measure to get the code to work under python 3.x.

11 years agoChange PyString usage to work with py3k
Iustin Pop [Sun, 27 Dec 2009 15:07:37 +0000 (16:07 +0100)]
Change PyString usage to work with py3k

This is one of the many steps needed to enable python 3 support: the
string/unicode changes.

11 years agoFix unittest suite compatibility with python2.6
Iustin Pop [Sun, 27 Dec 2009 12:59:06 +0000 (13:59 +0100)]
Fix unittest suite compatibility with python2.6

It turns out imports by filename were never supposed to work, and
python2.6 just errors out explicitly.

12 years agoMinor change in homepage url
Iustin Pop [Mon, 30 Jun 2008 19:54:18 +0000 (21:54 +0200)]
Minor change in homepage url

12 years agoAdded copyright notice in the README
Iustin Pop [Mon, 30 Jun 2008 19:54:06 +0000 (21:54 +0200)]
Added copyright notice in the README

12 years agoIncrease version to 0.4.0 r0.4.0
Iustin Pop [Sat, 28 Jun 2008 14:39:21 +0000 (16:39 +0200)]
Increase version to 0.4.0

12 years agoInclude the makefile in the generated archive
Iustin Pop [Sat, 28 Jun 2008 14:48:21 +0000 (16:48 +0200)]
Include the makefile in the generated archive

This will help with building the epydoc-generated documentation.

Also remove obsolete 'log' target from the makefile.

12 years agoSmall whitespace change
Iustin Pop [Sat, 28 Jun 2008 14:27:51 +0000 (16:27 +0200)]
Small whitespace change

12 years agoAdd license text to source files
Iustin Pop [Sat, 28 Jun 2008 14:25:37 +0000 (16:25 +0200)]
Add license text to source files

12 years agoUpdate documentation and license for version 0.4
Iustin Pop [Sat, 28 Jun 2008 13:59:03 +0000 (15:59 +0200)]
Update documentation and license for version 0.4

Note that this patch changes the license from GPL to LGPL (2.1 or
later).

12 years agoDocstring updates for epydoc compatibility
Iustin Pop [Sat, 28 Jun 2008 13:41:57 +0000 (15:41 +0200)]
Docstring updates for epydoc compatibility

By just changing a few docstrings, epydoc can generate much better
documentation - the docstrings were half-compatible already with the
epytext format.

Also the makefile and manifest were updated not to include and build the
default pydoc documentation.

12 years agoFix MANIFEST.in after os_linux.c removal
Iustin Pop [Sat, 28 Jun 2008 09:07:24 +0000 (11:07 +0200)]
Fix MANIFEST.in after os_linux.c removal

12 years agoImple the acl_equiv_mode function
Iustin Pop [Sat, 28 Jun 2008 06:19:37 +0000 (08:19 +0200)]
Imple the acl_equiv_mode function

This is another Linux-specific function, but very easy to implement.

12 years agoImplement the acl_extended_* functions
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Jun 2008 22:55:02 +0000 (00:55 +0200)]
Implement the acl_extended_* functions

This patch adds support for the Linux-specific acl_extended_fd and
acl_extended_file function, both exposed at module level through the
has_extended function name.

12 years agounittests: generalize the skip decorators
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Jun 2008 22:50:48 +0000 (00:50 +0200)]
unittests: generalize the skip decorators

Since there could be many extensions, it's better to generalize to a
single, parametrized decorator than to repeat the same code in multiple
ones.

12 years agounittests: abstract basic acl text into a constant
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Jun 2008 22:44:18 +0000 (00:44 +0200)]
unittests: abstract basic acl text into a constant

This patch just moved the basic acl text from being hardcoded in
multiple functions to a constant that can be easily modified, and
changes slightly the ACL.

12 years agoTry to enhance the FreeBSD support
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Jun 2008 22:08:00 +0000 (00:08 +0200)]
Try to enhance the FreeBSD support

FreeBSD 7.0 supports more functions, so we split some Linux-only
functions out from the HAVE_LEVEL2 defs and into a HAVE_ACL_COPY_EXT so
FreeBSD can define HAVE_LEVEL2 too.

12 years agoEnhance the unittest
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Jun 2008 20:55:28 +0000 (22:55 +0200)]
Enhance the unittest

The patch adds more unittests and renames the HAS_* constants for easier
usage.

12 years agoAllow use of a diferent path for temporary files
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Jun 2008 19:07:46 +0000 (21:07 +0200)]
Allow use of a diferent path for temporary files

This patch allows temporary files and directories created during the
test to live somewhere else (override with TESTDIR env. var).

12 years agoAdd some simple unittests
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Jun 2008 07:02:44 +0000 (09:02 +0200)]
Add some simple unittests

This patch adds some unittests for creation of ACLs. Based on the
platform, the from octal mode creation is skipped.

12 years agoExport features as a module attributes
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Jun 2008 07:00:08 +0000 (09:00 +0200)]
Export features as a module attributes

Currently it's hard to check from python if the current build of the
library has support for X or Y (e.g. acl from mode, etc.). So we export
this as module-level constants and this will allow users to check:
  if posix1e.HAS_ACL_FROM_MODE:
    acl = posix1e.ACL(mode=0644)

12 years agoSwitch from distutils to setuptools
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Jun 2008 06:59:03 +0000 (08:59 +0200)]
Switch from distutils to setuptools

Setuptools has some nice features (unittest targets and other), so it
makes sense to use it.

12 years agoAdd a .gitignore file
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Jun 2008 04:16:33 +0000 (06:16 +0200)]
Add a .gitignore file

13 years agoUpdate version numbers for release 0.3.0 r0.3.0
Iustin Pop [Sun, 21 Oct 2007 10:54:05 +0000 (12:54 +0200)]
Update version numbers for release 0.3.0

13 years agoDisallow cmp on ACLs
Iustin Pop [Mon, 8 Oct 2007 08:05:01 +0000 (10:05 +0200)]
Disallow cmp on ACLs

13 years agoUse the acl_cmp to implement eq and ne for ACLs
Iustin Pop [Mon, 8 Oct 2007 07:39:23 +0000 (09:39 +0200)]
Use the acl_cmp to implement eq and ne for ACLs

13 years agoImplement the acl_check function
Iustin Pop [Mon, 8 Oct 2007 06:13:33 +0000 (08:13 +0200)]
Implement the acl_check function

13 years agoAdd constants for the acl_check function
Iustin Pop [Mon, 8 Oct 2007 05:38:17 +0000 (07:38 +0200)]
Add constants for the acl_check function

13 years agoAdd to_any_text function
Iustin Pop [Mon, 8 Oct 2007 05:38:16 +0000 (07:38 +0200)]
Add to_any_text function

13 years agoExport the libacl TEXT_* constants under Linux
Iustin Pop [Mon, 8 Oct 2007 05:05:22 +0000 (07:05 +0200)]
Export the libacl TEXT_* constants under Linux

13 years agoFix a compilation warning with python2.4
Iustin Pop [Mon, 8 Oct 2007 04:56:07 +0000 (06:56 +0200)]
Fix a compilation warning with python2.4

It seems python2.4 expects the format argument to
PyArg_ParseTupleAndKeywords to be "char*" and thus the compiler emits a
warning when passing "const char*" (python2.5 is betteri here). Remove
the const from format in ACL_init to fix this.

13 years agoAdd a Darwin build option
Iustin Pop [Mon, 8 Oct 2007 04:47:01 +0000 (06:47 +0200)]
Add a Darwin build option

This is untested by me, reported (a long while ago) by Murali Vadivelu
<mkv22@cam.ac.uk>.

13 years agoStyle changes only
Iustin Pop [Mon, 8 Oct 2007 03:43:03 +0000 (05:43 +0200)]
Style changes only

The comments were reformatted to fit in 80-columns when using pydoc, and
the indenting was changed in for the comments.

13 years agoImplement acl_from_mode
Iustin Pop [Sun, 7 Oct 2007 20:22:15 +0000 (22:22 +0200)]
Implement acl_from_mode

When using the Linux libacl, there is another method to construct an ACL
object: from a mode_t. This patch adds a new parameter (mode) to the ACL
constructor (when HAVE_LINUX is defined) that uses this function to
create the ACL.

13 years agoWrap lines to fit in 80-columns
Iustin Pop [Sun, 7 Oct 2007 15:05:11 +0000 (17:05 +0200)]
Wrap lines to fit in 80-columns

13 years agoWhitespace changes
Iustin Pop [Sun, 7 Oct 2007 10:41:44 +0000 (12:41 +0200)]
Whitespace changes

14 years ago- Update setup.py to 0.2.2 r0.2.2
Iustin Pop [Sun, 3 Dec 2006 12:43:52 +0000 (12:43 +0000)]
- Update setup.py to 0.2.2
- remove posix1e from freebsd libs, as recent freebsd versions don't need it
  and also they don't have this lib anymore (the acls are in libc now)

14 years ago- Fix warnings by includin Python.h first
Iustin Pop [Sun, 3 Dec 2006 11:55:08 +0000 (11:55 +0000)]
- Fix warnings by includin Python.h first
- Fix warnings by passing a pointer to something not an int wrapped in a
  pointer for some functions

14 years agoAdd support for building on GNU/kFreeBSD
Iustin Pop [Sun, 3 Dec 2006 11:15:15 +0000 (11:15 +0000)]
Add support for building on GNU/kFreeBSD

17 years agoAdded ChangeLog to distribution
Iustin Pop [Tue, 27 Apr 2004 20:27:26 +0000 (20:27 +0000)]
Added ChangeLog to distribution

18 years agoRelease 0.2.1 r0.2.1
Iustin Pop [Sun, 29 Dec 2002 20:41:24 +0000 (20:41 +0000)]
Release 0.2.1

18 years agoFixed compilation on LEVEL1 platform (broke since after 0.1)
Iustin Pop [Sun, 29 Dec 2002 06:48:21 +0000 (06:48 +0000)]
Fixed compilation on LEVEL1 platform (broke since after 0.1)

18 years agoAdded missing functionality (acl_calc_mask) and some convenience functions.
Iustin Pop [Sun, 29 Dec 2002 06:36:24 +0000 (06:36 +0000)]
Added missing functionality (acl_calc_mask) and some convenience functions.

18 years agoSmall changes r0.2
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Dec 2002 21:55:09 +0000 (21:55 +0000)]
Small changes

18 years agoPrepare for release 0.2
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Dec 2002 19:47:20 +0000 (19:47 +0000)]
Prepare for release 0.2

18 years agoSmall makefile
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Dec 2002 19:43:12 +0000 (19:43 +0000)]
Small makefile

18 years agoDistutils file
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Dec 2002 19:42:56 +0000 (19:42 +0000)]
Distutils file

18 years agoLinux-specific file
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Dec 2002 19:42:30 +0000 (19:42 +0000)]
Linux-specific file

18 years agoInformations for porting to other platforms.
Iustin Pop [Fri, 27 Dec 2002 11:35:50 +0000 (11:35 +0000)]
Informations for porting to other platforms.

18 years agoAdded the Permset type/object and some other naming changes
Iustin Pop [Thu, 26 Dec 2002 09:21:09 +0000 (09:21 +0000)]
Added the Permset type/object and some other naming changes

18 years agoRenamed type & object names from ACLType to ACL_Type and so on. Also ACLEntry is...
Iustin Pop [Thu, 26 Dec 2002 06:48:10 +0000 (06:48 +0000)]
Renamed type & object names from ACLType to ACL_Type and so on. Also ACLEntry is now jus Entry.

18 years agoRenamed some fields from ob_x to x, as per other modules in python
Iustin Pop [Thu, 26 Dec 2002 06:43:54 +0000 (06:43 +0000)]
Renamed some fields from ob_x to x, as per other modules in python

18 years agoAdded acl_entry_t type (named ACLEntryType, respectively ACLEntryObject)
Iustin Pop [Thu, 26 Dec 2002 06:41:38 +0000 (06:41 +0000)]
Added acl_entry_t type (named ACLEntryType, respectively ACLEntryObject)

18 years agoDocumentation typo
Iustin Pop [Thu, 26 Dec 2002 03:24:09 +0000 (03:24 +0000)]
Documentation typo

18 years agoAdded setup.cfg, mainly for bdist_rpm
Iustin Pop [Tue, 24 Dec 2002 15:35:30 +0000 (15:35 +0000)]
Added setup.cfg, mainly for bdist_rpm

18 years agoDon't call python2, only python
Iustin Pop [Tue, 24 Dec 2002 15:29:42 +0000 (15:29 +0000)]
Don't call python2, only python

18 years agoPrepare for first public release
Iustin Pop [Tue, 24 Dec 2002 15:19:42 +0000 (15:19 +0000)]
Prepare for first public release

18 years agoMoved to real instance creation via type()
Iustin Pop [Tue, 24 Dec 2002 03:35:00 +0000 (03:35 +0000)]
Moved to real instance creation via type()

18 years agoAddedd __setstate__ and some docs
Iustin Pop [Mon, 23 Dec 2002 21:05:40 +0000 (21:05 +0000)]
Addedd __setstate__ and some docs

18 years agoInitial revision
Iustin Pop [Mon, 23 Dec 2002 16:55:31 +0000 (16:55 +0000)]
Initial revision

18 years agoMany functions added, started working on level 2 support
Iustin Pop [Mon, 23 Dec 2002 16:55:02 +0000 (16:55 +0000)]
Many functions added, started working on level 2 support

18 years agoInitial revision
Iustin Pop [Sat, 21 Dec 2002 21:55:21 +0000 (21:55 +0000)]
Initial revision